This month’s Spotlight Week features THE WIG IN THE WINDOW by MG Author Kristen Kittscher.

 *********************************************************************************************************

wiginthewindowCoverSept copy modified

The Wig in the Window

368 pages, Hardcover

Genre: MG, Ages 9 and up

Published on June 18, 2013 by HarperCollins

ISBN-10: 0062110500

ISBN-13: 978-0062110503

 

First Line:

I thought I’d mastered the art of escape.

 

Synopsis:

Best friends and seventh graders Sophie Young and Grace Yang have made a game out of spying on their neighbors. On one of their midnight stakeouts, they witness a terrifying, bloody scene at the home of their bizarre middle-school counselor, Dr. Charlotte Agford (aka Dr. Awkward).

At least, they think they do. The truth is that Dr. Agford was only making her famous pickled beets! But when Dr. Agford begins acting even weirder than usual, Sophie and Grace become convinced that she’s hiding something—and they’re determined to find out what it is.

Soon the girls are breaking secret codes, being followed by a strange blue car, and tailing strangers with unibrows and Texas accents. But as their investigation heats up, Sophie and Grace start to crack under the pressure. They might solve their case, but will their friendship survive?

Perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society, The Wig in the Window is a smart, funny middle-grade mystery with a REAR WINDOW twist.

 

 

My Review:

Best friends Young and Yang are seventh grade spies. They sneak out at night to spy on their neighbors. Their missions are mostly harmless, but things quickly get out of hand when they spy on their school counselor Dr. Agford.

As with any good mystery, the story is peppered with false trails and red herrings. The plot has so many twists and turns that just when I think I know who the culprit is and what she’s up to, I find myself utterly mistaken. Author Kristen Kittscher carries the suspense and mystery until the very end of the story—so much that I found myself finishing the book in one sitting.

The author deftly uses the story’s setting to amp up the tension.  The fictional California seaside town of Luna Vista is so serene that one would not expect nefarious events to happen there. And the fact that ugly secrets are uncovered in such a beautiful place makes them all the more surprising.

Plot and setting aside, what I love most about this story  are the main characters themselves, and the friendship between them. Sophie Young and Grace Yang are as different as night and day. Or more precisely, Yin and Yang. The two are complete opposites. Sophie is Caucasian, but loves everything Asian—even using Sun Tzu’s the Art of War to guide her daily life. Chinese-American Grace, on the other hand, seems to disregard her own Chinese heritage in favor of more American sensibilities. Sophie is the quiet, down to earth type, while Grace is the cool girl everybody just naturally likes. But the two somehow click.

I enjoyed witnessing Young and Yang’s friendship evolve throughout the story. At one point their fight gets really nasty and it’s unclear whether they will get past their differences and be friends again. But in the end, the two prove that no matter what happens, best friends always watch out for each other.

Although it is labeled as a middle grade novel, this book transcends all ages.  The themes are universal, the plot is terrific and the main characters are just so well developed. Drew This is one story that even adults will enjoy reading.   Wig in the Window is a funner and funnier version of Nancy and I personally can’t wait to read the next book in the series.

 

**************************************************************************************************

Tune in again on Wednesday for an interview with the wonderful Kristen Kittscher

 

3,266 total views, 1 views today

Share
Be Sociable, Share!

 

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

10 Responses to “Spotlight Week: The Wig in the Window by Kristen Kittscher”

  1. Wow! this sounds like a really good book. I’ll have to see if my library has the audio version.

  2. Akoss says:

    Oh yay! This is on my must read tbr list. I will be looking forward to your author interview. :)

  3. Sounds like a great character driven story! Thanks for the review.

  4. Carina Olsen says:

    I love the cover for this book 😀 Sounds awesome. Glad you liked it. <3 thank you for sharing :)

  5. Karen Lange says:

    Sounds like a good book! Congrats to Kristen! Thanks for the info and review. :)

  6. I’m glad I saw this post. I’m off to add this to my wish list.

  7. A woman after my own heart. I too, Kristen am looking to work from home full time writing. I love that book cover, I think it’s the color. Great post. Nutschell.
    Veronica
    http://www.veronicalsingleton.com

  8. […] you want to know more about WIG IN THE WINDOW  you can read my book review here or watch the amazing trailer […]

  9. […] month for my Spotlight Week, I reviewed the fun MG Mystery WIG IN THE WINDOW. I also featured an interview with the series’ awesome […]

Your COMMENTS Brighten Up My Writing Days!